Welcome to my blog!! This is a a place where the possibilities are endless, please remember to read, learn, comment, and smile!!! This blog is open to any questions, advice, suggestions etc.

Monday, 16 July 2007

Hieroglyphics


A hieroglyph is a character from a logographic or partly logographic writing system.
The term originally referred to the Egyptian hieroglyphs, but is also applied to the ancient Cretan Luwian, Mayan and Mi'kmaq scripts, and occasionally also to Chinese characters.

The word Hieroglyphs derives from the Greek words ἱερός (hierós 'sacred') and γλύφειν (glúphein 'to carve' or 'to write', see glyph), and was first used to describe Egyptian hieroglyphs.
The word "hieroglyphics" is derived from the fact that the Greeks called Egyptian hieroglyphs τά ἱερογλυφικά γράμματα 'hieroglyphic letters'; however, they sometimes simply dropped the word γράμματα, "letters", calling them τά ἱερογλυφικά 'the hieroglyphics' ('letters' being understood). This was used in informal use.

In the same way, although the term "hieroglyphics" is still used today, this usage adds a tone of informality, and is technically incorrect. It is more correct to use the noun "hieroglyphs" for both the language as a whole and for the individual characters that compose it, or to use the term "hieroglyphic" as an adjective (e.g., a hieroglyphic writing system).

Information: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hieroglyphics

Picture: http://www.nku.edu/~anthro/hieroglyphics.jpg

14 comments:

Kitty Kat said...

Wowza!
Cool!
I really want to learn Hiroglyphics but I think it would be extremly difficult!!!

IM A ROOM5IAN said...

thanks kitty kat! i would too!

Miss Candy said...

oh my gwash this is amazin

primprim said...

writing in hieroglyphics must take way longer than writing in plain english text!!!
pim:P

IM A ROOM5IAN said...

i think that was all they new pim:P, and if they remembered it it wouldnt be that hard

Anonymous said...

that would be sooooo hard to remember

SpUdArOoNy said...

HEY!

Oh My Gosh! Heiroglyphics must be so hard! oh well! Hope you can get our dolly!! xoxo!

By the way. heres a link to my blog!!

IM A ROOM5IAN said...

sweet thanks!!i cant get it tonight but, mmmm, yeah, hehe...

Anonymous said...

cool, HArd to learn probly. comment please

MrWoody said...

great work as usual, '5ian. 8>)

Anonymous said...

That is sooo cool p.s
today wasn't miss P nice !!!!!
i wish we could have her again !!

IM A ROOM5IAN said...

thanks everyone!!!!
yeah, she was cool, i haope so too...

8lk heart said...

thats WRONG

Anonymous said...

Soul eater can be trusted but he's a bit.. annoying